(English) Missouri Oral Health Preventive Services Program (PSP)

Catégories

Catégories associées à la pratique exemplaire :

  • Community
  • Services de santé
  • Infancy (ages 0-2) icon
  • Early Childhood (ages 3-5) icon
  • Children (ages 6-12) icon
  • Teens (ages 13-18) icon
  • Elementary School Icon 1
  • Anglais
  • Milieu de soins de santé
  • La santé bucco-dentaire
  • La santé bucco-dentaire
  • La santé bucco-dentaire
  • La santé bucco-dentaire
  • La santé bucco-dentaire
  • La santé bucco-dentaire
  • La santé bucco-dentaire
  • Relations sociales qui respectend la diversité

Determinants of Health: Relations sociales (y compris celles qui respectent la diversité), Accès aux services de santé, Inclusion sociale

Aperçu

Ce programme propose un modèle de programme communautaire de santé bucco-dentaire et fait appel à des bénévoles pour fournir des services de prévention et d’information aux enfants mal desservis du Missouri. L’objectif global de cette intervention est d’améliorer la santé bucco-dentaire des enfants (de la petite enfance jusqu’à 18 ans), en particulier des enfants défavorisés et mal desservis des milieux ruraux de l’État du Missouri. Ce programme est offert gratuitement aux collectivités et comporte quatre volets : évaluation de la santé bucco-dentaire des enfants dans le cadre d’examens dentaires annuels, dons de brosses à dents, de dentifrice, de soie dentaire et de documents informatifs à tous les enfants participants, application de vernis fluoré deux fois par année et création d’un réseau d’aiguillage pour répondre aux besoins urgents décelés lors des examens dentaires. Cinq hygiénistes dentaires à temps partiel offraient des services de consultation en santé bucco-dentaire et assuraient la coordination du programme. Des professionnels réalisaient bénévolement les évaluations de la santé bucco-dentaire des enfants et les aiguillaient vers des services des soins dentaires au besoin. Les autres bénévoles (parents et autres membres des collectivités) appliquaient le vernis fluoré et fournissaient de l’information aux enfants. En 2006, 273 dentistes et hygiénistes dentaires bénévoles et 415 bénévoles de la collectivité ont fourni des services d’examen dentaire, d’information sur la santé bucco-dentaire, d’application bisannuelle de vernis fluoré et d’aiguillage à 8529 enfants. En 2011, 775 dentistes et hygiénistes dentaires et 1837 membres de la collectivité ont bénévolement fourni ces services à près de 65 000 enfants.

Document-source principal

AM Hoffman, BG Branson, NT Keselyak, MA, M. Simmer-Beck. Tous de l’Université du Missouri à Kansas City., Preventive Services Program : A model engaging volunteers to expand community-based oral health services for children (en anglais seulement) Journal of Dental Hygiene, 88(2), 69-77

Coordonnées des développeurs et/ou des responsables de la mise en œuvre

Oral Health Program Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services PO Box 570 Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570 Phone: 573-751-6219 or (toll-free) 800-891-7415 Fax: 573-522-8146 Email: info@health.mo.gov

Cœur de l'intervention

But/objectif de l'interventionNiveau(x) ciblé(s)Orientation axée sur l'équité
Fournir des services de prévention des maladies bucco dentaires et de l’information aux enfants mal desservis du Missouri.
  • Niveau individuel
Les personnes défavorisées ne sont pas énoncées de façon explicite comme étant la population cible de l’intervention.
Faciliter les interventions communautaires en matière de santé grâce à des partenariats locaux.
  • Niveau communautaire
Les personnes défavorisées sont énoncées de façon explicite comme étant la population cible de l’intervention.
Améliorer la santé bucco-dentaire des membres d’une collectivité.
  • Niveau communautaire
Les personnes défavorisées sont énoncées de façon explicite comme étant la population cible de l’intervention.
Engager des bénévoles à participer aux activités de promotion de la santé bucco-dentaire dans leur collectivité.
  • Niveau communautaire
Les personnes défavorisées sont énoncées de façon explicite comme étant la population cible de l’intervention.

Problème(s) de santé visé(s) par l'intervention

Promotion de la santé

  • Promotion de la santé buccodentaire (PSB)
  • PSB - enfants et adolescents
  • PSB - nourrissons et enfants d'âge préscolaire
  • PSB - populations vulnérables
  • PSB - intégration
  • PSB - surveillance
  • PSB - planification

Réduction des risques

    Activités propres à l'intervention

    • Séances de counselling à l’intention des personnes présentant un risque élevé de maladie chronique
    • Création d’une coalition communautaire
    • Information sur la santé à des fins éducatives
    • Séances d’information offertes sur un facteur de risque ou une affection
    • Formation offerte pour la mise en œuvre de l’intervention
    • Événement/groupe de discussion communautaire
    • Établissement de partenariats
    • Fourniture d’outils de planification et d’outils d’évaluation

    Priorité/Population cible de l'intervention

    Période de vie

    • Nouveau-nés et nourrissons (de la naissance à 2 ans)
    • Petite enfance (3 à 5 ans)
    • Enfants (6 à 12 ans)
    • Adolescents (13 à 18 ans)

    Cadre

    Cadre éducatif

    • École primaire

    Cadre communautaire

    • Health care setting
    • Other

    Résultats

    Tableau des résultats et des répercussions
    RépercussionsDescription des répercussionsOrientation axée sur l'équité
    Au niveau communautaireLes résultats présentés ne mettent pas en évidence les conclusions liées aux personnes défavorisées.
    Au niveau individuelLe nombre d’enfants à avoir bénéficié de services de santé bucco-dentaire grâce au programme des services de prévention est passé de 8259 en 2006 à 65 000 à l’année financière 2010-2011. Les résultats présentés ne mettent pas en évidence les conclusions liées aux personnes défavorisées.
    Au niveau individuelLe nombre d’enfants qui ont reçu la première et la deuxième application de vernis fluoré est passé de 10 000 en 2005-2006 à 70 000 en 2010-2011.Les résultats présentés ne mettent pas en évidence les conclusions liées aux personnes défavorisées.
    Au niveau organisationnelLe taux de caries non traitées est passé de 52 % à 13 %, ce qui indique une réduction du nombre de caries observées chez les élèves de cinquième année à l’année 1 et observées chez les élèves de cinquième année à l’année 5. On a observé une réduction semblable du taux de caries non traitées chez les élèves de troisième année (de 44,9 % à 39,7 %), les élèves de deuxième année (de 42,5 % à 26 %) et les enfants du programme Head Start (de 38 % à 20 %). Les résultats présentés ne mettent pas en évidence les conclusions liées aux personnes défavorisées.
    Au niveau organisationnelCinq ans après le lancement du programme, on a observé un taux de caries traitées nettement supérieur chez les élèves de troisième année, où ce taux est passé de 28,7 % à 39 %, et chez les enfants du programme Head Start, où il est passé de 0,08 % à 19 %.Les résultats présentés ne mettent pas en évidence les conclusions liées aux personnes défavorisées.

    Adaptabilité

    Historique de la mise en œuvre

    • Multiples mises en œuvre - Contextes/populations/fournisseurs similaires - L’intervention a été mise en œuvre plus de deux fois dans le même contexte, auprès de la même population et par les mêmes fournisseurs et, en théorie, elle peut s’appliquer à d’autres contextes et/ou populations. *Toutes les mises en œuvre de l’intervention doivent avoir été essentiellement les mêmes et doivent avoir fait état de résultats positifs en ce qui concerne les objectifs primaires de l’intervention.Cela peut comprendre des mises en œuvre multiples au cours d’une même période.

    Expertise requise pour la mise en œuvre dans le contexte de l'intervention

    • Compétences spécialisées fournies dans le cadre de l’intervention – L’intervention n’exige pas une formation hautement spécialisée de la part des personnes ou des groupes, mais une formation sera offerte aux personnes ou aux groupes dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre de l’intervention.

    Existe-t-il des appuis disponibles pour la mise en œuvre

    Oui. Dans le cadre du programme des services de prévention, le Missouri fournit de la documentation, des formulaires, de la formation et des directives à l’intention des collectivités. Celles-ci peuvent donc exécuter le programme sans avoir à consacrer beaucoup de temps à l’élaboration initiale.

    Existe-t-il des ressources et/ou des produits rattachés à l'intervention

    Oui. Brosses à dents, dentifrice, soie dentaire, et documents d’information; Preventive Services Program brochure; http://health.mo.gov/blogs/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/PreventiveServicesProgramBrochure.pdf (en anglais seulement) Missouri Preventive Services Program A report from the 2013-2014 school year; Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services Office of Primary Care and Rural Health Oral Health Program; http://health.mo.gov/blogs/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/PSPReport2013-2014.pdf (en anglais seulement)

Missouri Oral Health Preventive Services Program (PSP)

Categories

Categories associated with best practice:

  • Community
  • Health Services
  • Infancy (ages 0-2) icon
  • Early Childhood (ages 3-5) icon
  • Children (ages 6-12) icon
  • Teens (ages 13-18) icon
  • Elementary School Icon 1
  • English
  • Health Care Setting
  • Oral Health
  • Oral Health
  • Oral Health
  • Oral Health
  • Oral Health
  • Oral Health
  • Oral Health
  • Social Relationships That Respect Diversity

Determinants of Health: Social relationships (including those that respect diversity), Access to health services, Social inclusion

Overview

The Preventive Services Program (PSP) is a community-based oral health program model which engages volunteers to provide preventive services and education for underserved children in Missouri. The overall aim of the intervention is to improve the oral health of all children (infant to 18 years of age) in the state of Missouri, with a special emphasis on underserved low-income children in rural areas of the state. The program is free of charge to all communities and involves 4 components (oral health assessment of the community children through annual oral screenings; provision of toothbrushes, toothpaste, floss and education material to all participating children; application of fluoride varnish 2 times a year; establishment of a referral network for immediate/urgent needs identified during the oral screenings). Five part-time dental hygienists served as oral health consultants and coordinated the PSP. The dental volunteers performed the oral health assessment on the community’s children and the referral to dental care as needed. The other volunteers (parents, other community members) applied the fluoride varnish and provide oral health education to the children. In 2006, 273 volunteer dentists and dental hygienists and 415 community volunteers provided oral screenings, oral health education, 2 fluoride varnish applications and referral for unmet dental care for 8,529 children. In 2011, 775 volunteer dentists and dental hygienists and 1,837 other community volunteers provided the PSP services to nearly 65,000 children.

Primary Source Document

AM Hoffman, BG Branson, NT Keselyak, MA, M. Simmer-Beck. All are at the University of Missouri - Kansas City., Preventive Services Program : A model engaging volunteers to expand community-based oral health services for children Journal of Dental Hygiene, 88(2), 69-77

Contact information of developer(s) and/or implementer(s)

Oral Health Program Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services PO Box 570 Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570 Phone: 573-751-6219 or (toll-free) 800-891-7415 Fax: 573-522-8146 Email: info@health.mo.gov

Intervention Focus

Intervention Goal / ObjectiveLevel(s) TargetedEquity Focus
To provide oral health preventive services and education for underserved children in Missouri.
  • Individual level
People living in conditions of disadvantage are not explicitly stated to be a target population of the intervention.
To facilitate community-based health interventions utilizing local partnerships.
  • Community level
People living in conditions of disadvantage are explicitly stated to be a target population of the intervention.
Improve the oral health of a community.
  • Community level
People living in conditions of disadvantage are explicitly stated to be a target population of the intervention.
To engage volunteers to oral health promotion activities in their community.
  • Community level
People living in conditions of disadvantage are explicitly stated to be a target population of the intervention.

Health Issue(s) that is/are addressed by the Intervention

Health Promotion

  • Oral Health Promotion
  • Oral HP Children/Youth
  • Oral HP Infants/Preschool
  • Oral HP Vulnerable Pop
  • Oral HP Integration
  • Oral HP Surveillance
  • Oral HP Planning

Risk Reduction

    Specific Activities of the Intervention

    • Counselling sessions to those who are at high risk for a chronic disease
    • Create a community coalition
    • Educational health information offered
    • Information sessions offered about a risk factor or condition
    • Training offered to deliver the intervention
    • Community event/forum
    • Partnership development
    • Provision of planning tools and evaluation tools

    Priority/Target Population for Intervention Delivery

    Life Stage

    • Infancy (birth to 2 years)
    • Early childhood (age 3-5 years)
    • Children (age 6-12 years)
    • Youth (age 13-18 years)

    Settings

    Educational Settings

    • Elementary school

    Community Setting

    • Health care setting
    • Other

    Outcomes

    Outcomes and Impact Chart
    Level of ImpactDescription of OutcomeEquity Focus
    Community LevelThe number of community volunteers increased from 2006 (273 volunteers dentists and dental hygienists and 415 other volunteers) and 2010-2011 fiscal year (775 volunteers dentists and dental hygienists and 1,837other volunteers).Reported outcomes do not distinguish findings specific to people living in conditions of disadvantage.
    Individual LevelThe number of children receiving oral health services from Preventive Services Programs increase from (8,259 in 2006 to 65,000 in 2010-2011 fiscal year.Reported outcomes do not distinguish findings specific to people living in conditions of disadvantage.
    Individual LevelThe number of children who received the first and second applications of fluoride varnish increase from 10,000 in 2005-2006 to 70,000 in 2010-2011.Reported outcomes do not distinguish findings specific to people living in conditions of disadvantage.
    Organizational LevelThe untreated decay decreased from 52 to 13%, indicating a decrease in caries activity among fifth graders measured year 1, and fifth graders measured year 5. Similar decreases in untreated decay were found in third graders (44.9 to 39.7%), second graders (42.5 to 26%) and Head Start children (38 to 20%).Reported outcomes do not distinguish findings specific to people living in conditions of disadvantage.
    Organizational LevelThird graders (28.7 to 39%) and Head Start children (0.08 to 19%) demonstrated a much greater percentage of treated decay after 5 years in the program. Reported outcomes do not distinguish findings specific to people living in conditions of disadvantage.

    Adaptability

    Implementation History

    • Multiple implementations - Similar settings/populations/providers - The intervention has been implemented more than twice in the same setting with the same population by similar providers, and is theoretically applicable to other settings and/or populations. This can include multiple implementations during the same time period. *Each implementation of the intervention must have been substantially the same and must have demonstrated positive results for the primary objectives of the intervention.

    Expertise Required for Implementation within the Context of the Intervention

    • Specialized skills training provided as part of the Intervention - The intervention does not require individuals or groups with highly specialized training, but requires that individuals or groups be trained as part of the implementation of the intervention.

    Are there supports available for implementation

    Yes. Missouri offers PSP as a package of materials, forms, training and instructions that can be used by each local community. This allows the community to proceed with PSP without a great deal of up-front development.

    Are there resources and/or products associated with the interventions

    Yes. Toothbrushes, toothpaste, floss, and educational materials; Preventive Services Program brochure; http://health.mo.gov/blogs/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/PreventiveServicesProgramBrochure.pdf Missouri Preventive Services Program A report from the 2013-2014 school year; Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services Office of Primary Care and Rural Health Oral Health Program; http://health.mo.gov/blogs/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/PSPReport2013-2014.pdf .