Walking the Path Together

Catégories:

Catégories associées à la pratique exemplaire :

  • Health Equity
  • wtt_ico
  • Infancy (ages 0-2) icon
  • Early Childhood (ages 3-5) icon
  • Children (ages 6-12) icon
  • Teens (ages 13-18) icon
  • Young Adult (ages 19-24) icon
  • Adult (ages 25-64) icon
  • Seniors (ages 65+) icon
  • Alcohol Abuse Icon 1
  • Canada
  • Anglais
  • Mental Health Icon 2
  • Preventing Violence Icon 1

Aperçu

Les travailleurs Eagle Feather (plume d’aigle) sont présents dans cinq refuges pour les femmes dans les réserves de l’Alberta pour fournir un soutien individuel et aider les enfants des Premières Nations qui ont connu la violence familiale.

Walking the Path Together (WTPT) est un projet d’apprentissage collaboratif qui rassemblait à l’origine huit organisations. En travaillant avec la famille, l’école et les soutiens communautaires de l’enfant tout en mettant l’accent sur les enseignements culturels, les travailleurs Eagle Feather aspirent à : 1) sécuriser l’environnement de l’enfant; 2) aider les familles à se reconstruire; 3) rendre possible un avenir exempt de toute violence pour l’enfant en question.

L’Alberta Council of Women’s Shelters (ACWS) est une organisation provinciale et bénévole qui soutient les refuges pour les femmes et leurs partenaires par l’éducation, la recherche et des services fournis aux femmes maltraitées et à leurs enfants. Par l’intermédiaire de l’Alberta Council of Women’s Shelters, les refuges d’urgence, de deuxième étape, pour personnes âgées et dans les réserves à l’intention des femmes de l’Alberta travaillent ensemble dans un environnement d’apprentissage collaboratif en vue d’approfondir les connaissances pratiques prometteuses et de maintenir un service de qualité supérieure dans les refuges de l’Alberta.

On doit permettre aux enfants d’être des enfants : ils ont besoin de rire, d’aimer et de jouer. C’est ce qui motive le projet Walking the Path Together. Les phases I et II de ce projet ont permis d’obtenir des résultats concrets, et l’ACWS recherche actuellement des financements durables. Des services multiples et variés sont fournis aux familles, de manière à répondre à leurs besoins, à leurs intérêts et à leurs demandes, y compris du mentorat, de la formation en dynamique de la vie, du counseling, un soutien affectif ou spirituel, un traitement pour les toxicomanies, des activités sportives, des activités artistiques et d’autres activités récréatives, des activités culturelles ou d’apprentissage traditionnel, une aide à l’emploi, une aide au logement, une aide juridique et une aide à l’accès à un soutien médical ou mental.

Les interventions visent à résoudre :

  1. L’exposition à la violence familiale et à la violence envers les enfants;
  2. Les attitudes qui acceptent la violence comme étant normale, inévitable ou souhaitable;
  3. Le faible attachement à l’école, le faible lien entre la famille et l’école, la faible probabilité d’achèvement des études;
  4. Les facteurs mettant en péril le rôle parental (p. ex. l’abus d’alcool, les compétences parentales inefficaces);
  5. L’attrait des stratégies d’adaptation malsaines (p. ex. la toxicomanie, la participation à des activités de gangs et les actes autodestructeurs);
  6. Le manque de modèles en matière de relations saines, de respect de soi et de valeurs traditionnelles;
  7. Le manque de fierté et d’engagement des enfants à l’égard du patrimoine des Premières Nations.

RENSEIGNEMENTS CONTEXTUELS SUPPLÉMENTAIRES

L’inspiration et les orientations pour la création de ce projet sont intervenues en 2005, lorsque l’ACWS et les refuges dans les réserves ont mis en œuvre l’étude intitulée Pathways Study. Cette étude comprenait un examen approfondi de l’environnement qui a permis de mettre en lumière les exigences en matière d’outils, de formation et de recherche en vue de satisfaire les besoins particuliers des enfants des Premières Nations dans les réserves qui sont exposés à la violence familiale. Plus particulièrement, la nécessité de mettre en œuvre des efforts collaboratifs en vue de renforcer les ressources des refuges dans les réserves et des programmes adaptés culturellement aux enfants vivant dans des réserves et ayant accès à ces refuges a été jugée prioritaire.

En 2009, les refuges de l’ACWS ont formé un cercle d’orientation du projet, défini leurs aspirations pour le projet et embauché cinq femmes qu’ils ont appelées travailleuses Eagle Feather, car la plume d’aigle symbolise l’honnêteté, la vérité, la force, le courage et la sagesse. Les refuges de l’ACWS ont ensuite invité les familles à les rejoindre. Des financements pluriannuels dédiés en provenance de Sécurité publique et Protection civile (Centre national de prévention du crime) et du ministère de la Justice de l’Alberta (Safe Communities Innovation Fund) ont donné la possibilité de travailler différemment avec les familles, qui pour bon nombre d’entre elles avaient utilisé à plusieurs reprises les services de refuges. L’approche FEATHER du programme WTPT :

  • Se concentre sur un petit nombre de familles (nous avons déterminé qu’un nombre de 10 familles permettait d’obtenir les meilleurs résultats);
  • Entretient une relation à plus long terme (pendant deux années ou plus);
  • Permet d’apporter un soutien au lieu d’attendre qu’il soit demandé;
  • Travaille avec l’ensemble de la famille (y compris les partenaires hommes volontaires et tout autre membre de la famille);
  • Fournit une assistance pour tout problème auquel peuvent être confrontées les familles dans leur parcours de rétablissement, y compris en répondant à leurs besoins essentiels;
  • Rencontre les familles où et quand c’est le plus pratique pour elles.

En bref, cette approche fournit un soutien proactif, à long terme et intensif qui prendra la forme la plus utile, quelle qu’elle soit, pour mettre une famille sur la voie de l’éloignement de la violence et d’une vie heureuse et paisible. Ce soutien peut prendre la forme d’une assistance en matière d’hébergement, d’alimentation, de revenus, de soins médicaux, de sécurité, de défense juridique, d’orientations liées aux compétences parentales, ou encore d’activités récréatives, éducatives ou culturelles. Ce n’est pas aussi simple que cela en a l’air, ni aussi bien perçu par les familles qu’on pourrait le penser. Cependant, les évaluations du programme ont permis d’observer des changements lents, mais importants au sein des familles concernées. Le programme Walking the Path Together estime que cette approche est adaptée au contexte des collectivités au sein des réserves et respecte ce contexte, mais elle peut être utilisée dans n’importe quel refuge, y compris dans les grands refuges canadiens bien connus du grand public.

La pratique du personnel d’intervention appelé travailleur Eagle Feather est au cœur du travail mené par le projet auprès des enfants et des familles. Ces travailleurs, situés dans les cinq refuges pour les femmes participants en Alberta, fournissent un soutien individuel aux enfants qui ont assisté à des violences et à leurs familles (frères, sœurs et aidants) par l’intermédiaire des activités essentielles suivantes :

  1. la gestion des cas;
  2. les séances de counseling individuel;
  3. les cercles de la parole;
  4. les séances de counseling familial;
  5. les discussions de conciliation avec les Aînés;
  6. les conférences avec des groupes de familles.

Ils utilisent également un autre outil, appelé Danger Assessment Tool (outil d’évaluation du danger), qui permet de prévoir le risque qu’une femme soit tuée ou presque tuée par un partenaire intime. Cet outil a été élaboré en 1986 par Jacquelyn Campbell, après consultation et validation du contenu auprès de femmes maltraitées, de travailleurs de refuges, de responsables de l’application de la loi et d’autres experts cliniques de la maltraitance. Cet outil se compose de deux parties : un calendrier et un questionnaire de 20 questions.

Le calendrier facilite l’évaluation de la gravité et de la fréquence des maltraitances au cours de l’année précédente. Il est demandé à la femme d’indiquer approximativement les jours auxquels se sont produits les incidents, et de classer leur gravité en utilisant une échelle de 1 à 5 (1 = gifle, bousculade, aucune blessure ni douleur durable; 5 = utilisation d’une arme, blessures liées à une arme). Ce calendrier agit comme un outil permettant aux femmes de prendre conscience et de réduire le déni et la minimisation des maltraitances dont elles font l’objet dans leur vie (Campbell, 1995; Ferraro et al., 1983). Le recensement des incidents de maltraitance avec le calendrier facilite également le processus de planification de la sécurité. Souvent, les femmes sont en mesure de déceler des tendances concernant les moments où les maltraitances sont les plus susceptibles de se produire et, par conséquent, de dresser des plans de sécurité propres à leur situation personnelle. Les résultats des recherches menées par J. Campbell aux États-Unis indiquent qu’un tiers des femmes ayant participé à cette étude avaient modifié leur réponse à la première des 20 questions du questionnaire (« La gravité ou la fréquence des maltraitances ont-elles augmenté au cours de l’année passée ? »), répondant ainsi positivement après avoir rempli le calendrier de l’outil. Les 20 questions de cette évaluation du danger requièrent des réponses par oui ou non à propos des facteurs de risque liés aux homicides commis par un partenaire intime et utilisent une notation pondérée pour déterminer le niveau de danger pesant sur une femme. Certains des facteurs de risque comprennent les menaces de mort antérieures, la situation d’emploi du partenaire et la possession ou non d’une arme à feu par le partenaire.

Document-source principal

N/A

Coordonnées des développeurs et/ou des responsables de la mise en œuvre

N/A

Cœur de l'intervention

N/A

Problème(s) de santé visé(s) par l'intervention

N/A

N/A

Activités propres à l'intervention

N/A

Priorité/Population cible de l'intervention

N/A

Résultats

N/A

Adaptabilité

Historique de la mise en œuvre

N/A

Expertise requise pour la mise en œuvre dans le contexte de l'intervention

N/A

Existe-t-il des appuis disponibles pour la mise en œuvre?

N/A

Existe-t-il des ressources et/ou des produits rattachés à l'intervention?

N/A

Walking the Path Together

Categories:

Categories associated with best practice:

  • Health Equity
  • wtt_ico
  • Infancy (ages 0-2) icon
  • Early Childhood (ages 3-5) icon
  • Children (ages 6-12) icon
  • Teens (ages 13-18) icon
  • Young Adult (ages 19-24) icon
  • Adult (ages 25-64) icon
  • Seniors (ages 65+) icon
  • Alcohol Abuse Icon 1
  • Canada
  • English
  • Mental Health Icon 2
  • Preventing Violence Icon 1

Overview

Eagle Feather Workers based in five on-reserve women’s shelters in Alberta provide one-on-one support to First Nations children who have lived within family violence.

Walking the Path Together (WTPT) is a collaborative learning project initially comprised of eight organizations. By working with the child’s family, school and community supports, and emphasizing cultural teachings, the Eagle Feather Workers aspire to: 1) make the environment of the child safe; 2) help the family heal; and 3) make room for the possibility of a violence-free future for that child.

The Alberta Council of Women’s Shelters (ACWS) is a province-wide, voluntary organization supporting women’s shelters and their partners through education, research and services for the benefit of abused women and their children. Through the Alberta Council of Women’s Shelters, Alberta women’s emergency, second-stage, seniors’ and on-reserve shelters work together in a learning collaborative to develop promising-practice knowledge and maintain high quality service in Alberta’s shelters.

Children should be allowed to be children: they need to laugh, love and play. This inspires Walking the Path Together. Phases I and II of this project have demonstrated outcomes and ACWS is searching for sustainable funding. Multiple and varied services are provided for families, to match their needs, interests and requests, including mentoring, life skills training, counseling, emotional and/or spiritual support, substance abuse treatment brokerage, sports, arts and other recreational activities, cultural activities/traditional learning, employment support, housing support, advocacy with the legal systems, and support to access medical and/or mental health support.

Interventions are aimed at addressing:

  1. Exposure to family violence and child abuse;
  2. Attitudes accepting violence as normal, unavoidable or desirable;
  3. Low attachment to school / poor family-school link / reduced probability of school completion;
  4. Factors compromising parenting (e.g., alcohol abuse, ineffective parenting skills);
  5. The pull of unhealthy coping strategies (e.g., drug use, gang involvement, self-harm);
  6. Need for role models for healthy relationships, self-respect and traditional values;
  7. Children feeling pride and commitment to their First Nations heritage.

ADDITIONAL SUPPORTING INFORMATION

Inspiration and guidance for the development of the project came about in 2005 when ACWS and the on-reserve shelters implemented the Pathways Study. This Study involved an environmental scan which highlighted the need for tools, training and research to address specific needs of First Nations children on-reserve who are exposed to domestic violence. In particular the need for collaborative efforts to build resources of on-reserve shelters and culturally relevant programming for child residents accessing on-reserve shelters were identified as priorities.

In 2009, ACWS shelters formed a Project Guidance Circle, set out their dream for the project, and hired five women whom they called Eagle Feather Workers because the eagle feather symbolizes honesty, truth, strength, courage, and wisdom. Then the ACWS shelters invited families to join them. Dedicated multi-year funding from both Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness Canada, (National Crime Prevention Centre) and the Alberta Justice (Safe Communities Innovation Fund) created an opportunity to work in a new way with families, many of whom had been repeat users of shelter services. The WTPT programme FEATHER approach:

  • Focuses on a few families (we found that 10 families worked best)
  • Maintains longer contact (for two years or more)
  • Reaches out to offer support instead of waiting to be contacted
  • Works with the entire family (including willing male partners and any other family members)
  • Assists with any issue families face in their healing journeys, including basic needs
  • Meets families where it is convenient for them, when it is convenient for them

In short, this approach provides proactive, long-term, intensive support in whatever form it takes to help a family begin a journey away from violence and towards a happy and peaceful life. This support might be assistance with housing, food, income support, medical care, safety, advocacy with the legal systems, parenting guidance, or it may take the form of recreational, educational, therapeutic or cultural activities. This is not as easy as it sounds, nor as welcomed by families as you might expect. However, the evaluations of the programme observed slow but strong changes in families. Walking the Path Together believes this approach is responsive and respectful to the context of reserve-based communities but it can be used in any shelter, including mainstream Canadian ones.

At the core of the project’s work with children and families is the practice of intervention staff entitled “Eagle Feather Workers”. These workers, based within the five participating women’s shelters in Alberta, provide one-on-one supports to children who have witnessed violence and their families (siblings and caregivers), through the following key activities:

  1. Case management;
  2. Individual counseling sessions;
  3. Talking circles;
  4. Family counseling sessions;
  5. Arranging talks with Elders;
  6. Family group conferencing sessions.

Another tool they employ is the Danger Assessment (DA) — a tool for predicting a woman’s risk of being killed or almost killed by an intimate partner. The tool was developed by Dr. Jacquelyn Campbell (1986) with consultation and content validity support from abused women, shelter workers, law enforcement officials and other clinical experts on abuse. There are two parts to the tool: a Calendar and a 20-item Questionnaire.

The Calendar helps to assess severity and frequency of abuse during the past year. The woman is asked to mark the approximate days when physically abusive incidents occurred, and to rank the severity of the incident using a 1 to 5 scale (1=slap, pushing, no injuries and/or lasting pain through 5=use of weapon, wounds from weapon). The Calendar acts as a tool to raise the consciousness of women and reduce the denial and minimization of the abuse in their lives (Campbell, 1995; Ferraro et al., 1983). Identifying incidents of abuse with the calendar also aids the safety planning process. Often women are able to identify patterns when the abuse is most likely to occur, and therefore make safety plans specific to their own situations. Results of research conducted by Dr. J. Campbell in the United States indicated that one third of women who participated in the study changed their response to the first question on the 20-item questionnaire— “Did the abuse increase in severity or frequency over the past year?”— to a positive response after completing the calendar portion of the tool. The 20 questions on the DA have yes or no responses to risk factors associated with intimate partner homicide and uses weighted scoring to determine a women’s level of danger. Some of the risk factors include past death threats, partner’s employment status and the partner’s gun ownership.

Primary Source Document

Irene Hoffart, Walking the path together evaluation – Phases I and II The Alberta Council of Women’s Shelters

Contact information of developer(s) and/or implementer(s)

N/A

Intervention Focus

Intervention Goal / ObjectiveLevel(s) TargetedEquity Focus
Long-Term Goal: to reduce the likelihood that children grow up to use or accept violence in their own intimate relationships
  • Individual level
People living in conditions of disadvantage are explicitly stated to be a target population of the intervention.
Intermediate Goal: no child is living with violence at home
  • Individual level
People living in conditions of disadvantage are explicitly stated to be a target population of the intervention.
Intermediate Goal:all children live with at least one nurturing caregiver
  • Individual level
People living in conditions of disadvantage are explicitly stated to be a target population of the intervention.
Intermediate Goal:no child is engaging in behaviour that would be criminal if they were 12 years of age or older
  • Individual level
People living in conditions of disadvantage are explicitly stated to be a target population of the intervention.
Intermediate Goal:women are more likely to keep themselves and their children safe
  • Individual level
People living in conditions of disadvantage are explicitly stated to be a target population of the intervention.

Health Issue(s) that is/are addressed by the Intervention

Health Promotion

  • Mental Health

Risk Reduction

  • Prevent/reduce alcohol use/abuse
  • Prevent violence

Specific Activities of the Intervention

    N/A

    Priority/Target Population for Intervention Delivery

    Life Stage

    • All ages

    Settings

    Educational Settings

      Community Setting

      • Other

      Outcomes

      Outcomes and Impact Chart
      Level of ImpactDescription of OutcomeEquity Focus
      Individual LevelIn general, almost all families were assessed as healthier as a result of the project – they were eating better and more nutritional meals, there was a significant improvement in their personal hygiene and cleanliness, and fewer children were malnourishedOutcomes reported for people living in conditions of disadvantage are compared to outcomes for people living in more advantaged conditions.
      Individual LevelOver the course of the project almost all primary caregivers (between 83 and 90 percent depending on the project phase) were provided with parenting information and support.Outcomes reported for people living in conditions of disadvantage are compared to outcomes for people living in more advantaged conditions.
      Individual LevelIn Phase I, there were 4 children for whom incidents of school violence were recorded and for all but one child those incidents were recorded in the first 9 months of the project only. Over the course of Phase II, 12 of 21 children showed improvement with respect to school violence at least once.Outcomes reported for people living in conditions of disadvantage are compared to outcomes for people living in more advantaged conditions.
      Individual LevelIn Phase II, 26 of 37 (70%) children for whom this information was documented were described as having improved their academic achievement at least once during this phase.Outcomes reported for people living in conditions of disadvantage are compared to outcomes for people living in more advantaged conditions.
      Interpersonal LevelDuring Phase I there were no reports to Child Welfare recorded over the course of the projectfor a large majority of the participating children (n=48, 75% of 64).Outcomes reported for people living in conditions of disadvantage are compared to outcomes for people living in more advantaged conditions.
      Societal LevelThe course of 2 years, the overall social value of investment in WTPT is $5.42 for every dollar invested.Outcomes reported for people living in conditions of disadvantage are compared to outcomes for people living in more advantaged conditions.

      Adaptability

      Implementation History

      • Multiple implementations - Different settings/populations/providers - The intervention showed significant adaptability as it has been implemented in different settings or with different populations or by different provider(s). This can include multiple implementations during the same time period. Each implementation of the intervention must have been substantially the same and must have demonstrated positive results for the primary objectives of the intervention.

      Expertise Required for Implementation within the Context of the Intervention

      • Specialized skills training provided as part of the Intervention - The intervention does not require individuals or groups with highly specialized training, but requires that individuals or groups be trained as part of the implementation of the intervention.

      Are there supports available for implementation

      Yes. ACWS assists in securing funding

      Are there resources and/or products associated with the interventions

      Yes. WTPT programme FEATHER approach and Danger Assessment Tool and POP-Tarts tool